Data sources

Everything on this site is computed from open data published by the organisations below. Names are counted as published; we tidy capitalisation and treat accented and unaccented spellings as the same name.

Adelaide Australia · dogs
Dog Registrations, City of Adelaide
1,573 dogs, 2013–2015. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: City of Adelaide. Dogs registered with the City of Adelaide (Adelaide and North Adelaide) in the 2013, 2014 and 2015 registration years; each year is a separate list, so a dog registered in several years is counted once per year.
Burnside Australia · dogs
Burnside Dog Registrations, City of Burnside
5,189 dogs, 2015. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: City of Burnside. Dogs registered in the City of Burnside (eastern suburbs of Adelaide) for the 2015 registration year, one row per dog.
City of Casey Australia · cats
AnimalRegistration_PetName_Only, City of Casey
990 cats, 2025. Licence: Not stated on this dataset; City of Casey open data is otherwise published under CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: City of Casey. Top 20 cat names among pets registered with the City of Casey (south-east Melbourne), as published in 2025. Only the top 20 are published; population is the number of active cat registrations in the council's "Animal Registrations (Insights)" dataset (August 2024 extract), so shares are approximate.
City of Casey Australia · dogs
AnimalRegistration_PetName_Only, City of Casey
4,174 dogs, 2025. Licence: Not stated on this dataset; City of Casey open data is otherwise published under CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: City of Casey. Top 20 dog names among pets registered with the City of Casey (south-east Melbourne), as published in 2025. Only the top 20 are published; population is the number of active dog registrations in the council's "Animal Registrations (Insights)" dataset (August 2024 extract), so shares are approximate.
Corangamite Shire Australia · cats
Corangamite Shire Animal Names and Breeds, Corangamite Shire Council
960 cats, 2023. Licence: CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: Corangamite Shire Council. Registered cats in Corangamite Shire (Camperdown, Terang, Cobden...) counted by name and breed, as published (data last processed March 2023). No sex is published with names.
Corangamite Shire Australia · dogs
Corangamite Shire Animal Names and Breeds, Corangamite Shire Council
2,666 dogs, 2023. Licence: CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: Corangamite Shire Council. Registered dogs in Corangamite Shire (Camperdown, Terang, Cobden...) counted by name and breed, as published (data last processed March 2023). No sex is published with names.
Golden Plains Shire Australia · cats
Golden Plains animal registrations, Golden Plains Shire Council
1,094 cats, 2016. Licence: CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: Golden Plains Shire Council. Registered cats in Golden Plains Shire (between Geelong and Ballarat) as published in March 2016, one row per animal.
Golden Plains Shire Australia · dogs
Golden Plains animal registrations, Golden Plains Shire Council
5,279 dogs, 2016. Licence: CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: Golden Plains Shire Council. Registered dogs in Golden Plains Shire (between Geelong and Ballarat) as published in March 2016, one row per animal.
Noosa Australia · dogs
Dogs of Noosa Shire, Noosa Shire Council
9,524 dogs, 2017. Licence: CC BY 2.5 AU (attribution requirement waived by the publisher). Registered dogs in Noosa Shire as published in February 2017, one row per dog. Breeds are abbreviated council codes (e.g. "RetrievGd" = Golden Retriever, trailing X = cross).
Playford Australia · dogs
Dog Register (2015 Dog Registration Dataset), City of Playford
16,623 dogs, 2015. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: City of Playford. Current dog register of the City of Playford (northern Adelaide) as published in 2015, one row per dog.
Prospect Australia · dogs
City of Prospect Dog Registrations (Dog Registration Details 2016), City of Prospect
1,055 dogs, 2016. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: City of Prospect. Dogs registered in the City of Prospect (inner northern Adelaide) for 2016, one row per dog. Birth dates are published but not used.
South Australia Australia · cats
Dogs and Cats Online Data (Most popular in SA: top 100 cat names), Department for Environment and Water (SA), Dog and Cat Management Board
28,168 cats, 2022–2025. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: Department for Environment and Water, Government of South Australia (Dog and Cat Management Board, Dogs and Cats Online). Top 100 cat names among all cats with status "At Home" in the statewide Dogs and Cats Online register, extracted on 30 May each year (2022, 2023, 2024, 2025). Only the top 100 names are published; population is the total number of cats at home on the latest snapshot (per year: 2022: 82093, 2023: 89314, 2024: 99557, 2025: 107751).
South Australia Australia · dogs
Dogs and Cats Online Data (Most popular in SA: top 100 dog names), Department for Environment and Water (SA), Dog and Cat Management Board
123,354 dogs, 2022–2025. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: Department for Environment and Water, Government of South Australia (Dog and Cat Management Board, Dogs and Cats Online). Top 100 dog names among all dogs with status "At Home" in the statewide Dogs and Cats Online register, extracted on 30 May each year (2022, 2023, 2024, 2025). Only the top 100 names are published; population is the total number of dogs at home on the latest snapshot (per year: 2022: 322934, 2023: 327139, 2024: 330381, 2025: 331560).
Surf Coast Shire Australia · cats
Surf Coast Shire Animal Registrations, Surf Coast Shire Council
884 cats, 2016. Licence: CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: Surf Coast Shire Council. Registered cats in Surf Coast Shire (Torquay, Anglesea, Lorne...) as last updated in July 2016, one row per animal. No sex is published; some rows have no name.
Surf Coast Shire Australia · dogs
Surf Coast Shire Animal Registrations, Surf Coast Shire Council
5,541 dogs, 2016. Licence: CC BY 3.0 AU. Attribution: Surf Coast Shire Council. Registered dogs in Surf Coast Shire (Torquay, Anglesea, Lorne...) as last updated in July 2016, one row per animal. No sex is published; some rows have no name.
Laval Canada · cats
Permis pour animaux, Ville de Laval
3,297 cats, 2023–2026. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: Source : Ville de Laval, Données Québec (CC BY 4.0). Snapshot of all active cat permits in Laval, Quebec (one row per animal, names mostly French/English). Year is the start year of the current permit; permits run 1-3 years, so this is the current register rather than a time series. Breed names are in French.
Laval Canada · dogs
Permis pour animaux, Ville de Laval
8,447 dogs, 2017–2026. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: Source : Ville de Laval, Données Québec (CC BY 4.0). Snapshot of all active dog permits in Laval, Quebec (one row per animal, names mostly French/English). Year is the start year of the current permit; permits run 1-3 years, so this is the current register rather than a time series. Breed names are in French.
Maple Ridge Canada · dogs
Dog Names and Breeds, City of Maple Ridge
6,359 dogs, 2026. Licence: Open Government Licence – Maple Ridge. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Maple Ridge.. Dogs holding a City of Maple Ridge dog licence in the current calendar year (one row per dog, refreshed nightly), with sex and breed. The data has no year column; year is the year it was downloaded (refetch with --force for a newer snapshot).
Port Moody Canada · dogs
Dog Licences, City of Port Moody
2,374 dogs, 2019. Licence: Open Government Licence – Port Moody. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Port Moody.. Active dog licences in Port Moody (name, breed, colour) as published in June 2019, when the layer was last updated; year 2019 is that snapshot. Small suburb of Vancouver.
Toronto Canada · cats
Licensed Dog and Cat Names, City of Toronto, Municipal Licensing & Standards (Toronto Animal Services)
19,695 cats, 2012–2026. Licence: Open Government Licence – Toronto. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Toronto.. Names of cats licensed in Toronto in each calendar year, with counts (licences are renewed yearly, so a pet appears in every year it was licensed). 2012-2019 list every name; from 2020 on the city publishes only the top 200 names per year, so later years have no long tail (the current year is partial).
Toronto Canada · dogs
Licensed Dog and Cat Names, City of Toronto, Municipal Licensing & Standards (Toronto Animal Services)
49,639 dogs, 2012–2026. Licence: Open Government Licence – Toronto. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Toronto.. Names of dogs licensed in Toronto in each calendar year, with counts (licences are renewed yearly, so a pet appears in every year it was licensed). 2012-2019 list every name; from 2020 on the city publishes only the top 200 names per year, so later years have no long tail (the current year is partial).
Vancouver Canada · cats
Animal control inventory - lost and found, City of Vancouver, Animal Services
3,576 cats, 1999–2026. Licence: Open Government Licence – Vancouver. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Vancouver.. Not a licence register: names of cats reported lost to Vancouver Animal Control, 1999-today (year = report year). A pet lost more than once is counted once per report. Breeds are free text as typed by staff.
Vancouver Canada · dogs
Animal control inventory - lost and found, City of Vancouver, Animal Services
12,250 dogs, 1999–2026. Licence: Open Government Licence – Vancouver. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Vancouver.. Not a licence register: names of dogs reported lost to Vancouver Animal Control, 1999-today (year = report year). A pet lost more than once is counted once per report. Breeds are free text as typed by staff.
Victoria Canada · dogs
Dog Licences 2024 / Dog Licences 2025, City of Victoria
6,064 dogs, 2024–2025. Licence: Open Government Licence – City of Victoria. Attribution: Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – City of Victoria.. Names of dogs licensed in the City of Victoria (the core city, about 6,000 dogs a year), with counts by sex for each licence year. Breeds are published only separately from names.
Fusagasugá Colombia · cats
Esterilizaciones caninas y felinas del Municipio de Fusagasugá, Alcaldía de Fusagasugá, Secretaría de Agricultura y Ambiente
890 cats, 2021–2025. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Fusagasugá, Cundinamarca (datos.gov.co). Felinos sterilised in free municipal campaigns in Fusagasugá; year is the year of the procedure. Covers only animals brought to the campaigns, not a full register.
Fusagasugá Colombia · dogs
Esterilizaciones caninas y felinas del Municipio de Fusagasugá, Alcaldía de Fusagasugá, Secretaría de Agricultura y Ambiente
961 dogs, 2021–2025. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Fusagasugá, Cundinamarca (datos.gov.co). Caninos sterilised in free municipal campaigns in Fusagasugá; year is the year of the procedure. Covers only animals brought to the campaigns, not a full register.
Miranda Colombia · cats
Vacunación antirrábica felina y canina municipio de Miranda Cauca, Alcaldía de Miranda, Cauca
632 cats, 2024. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Miranda, Cauca (datos.gov.co). Catss vaccinated against rabies in the 2024 municipal campaign in Miranda, Cauca, one row per animal. Covers only animals brought to the campaign.
Miranda Colombia · dogs
Vacunación antirrábica felina y canina municipio de Miranda Cauca, Alcaldía de Miranda, Cauca
1,792 dogs, 2024. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Miranda, Cauca (datos.gov.co). Dogss vaccinated against rabies in the 2024 municipal campaign in Miranda, Cauca, one row per animal. Covers only animals brought to the campaign.
Nariño (municipality) Colombia · cats
Censo Vacunación 2020, Alcaldía de Nariño, Nariño
316 cats, 2020. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Nariño, Nariño (datos.gov.co). Catss in the 2020 rabies vaccination census of the small municipality of Nariño (Nariño department, near Pasto), one row per animal.
Nariño (municipality) Colombia · dogs
Censo Vacunación 2020, Alcaldía de Nariño, Nariño
772 dogs, 2020. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Nariño, Nariño (datos.gov.co). Dogss in the 2020 rabies vaccination census of the small municipality of Nariño (Nariño department, near Pasto), one row per animal.
Villavicencio Colombia · cats
Registro de Vacunación Antirrábica en el Municipio de Villavicencio, Alcaldía de Villavicencio
1,460 cats, 2026. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Villavicencio, Meta (datos.gov.co). Animals vaccinated against rabies in municipal campaigns in Villavicencio (felinos only); year is the vaccination year. A vaccination record rather than a full register, so it covers only animals brought to the campaigns.
Villavicencio Colombia · dogs
Registro de Vacunación Antirrábica en el Municipio de Villavicencio, Alcaldía de Villavicencio
1,705 dogs, 2026. Licence: CC BY-SA 4.0. Attribution: Alcaldía de Villavicencio, Meta (datos.gov.co). Animals vaccinated against rabies in municipal campaigns in Villavicencio (caninos only); year is the vaccination year. A vaccination record rather than a full register, so it covers only animals brought to the campaigns.
Sweden Sweden · cats
De populäraste kattnamnen (Statistik ur kattregistret), Jordbruksverket (Swedish Board of Agriculture)
207,228 cats, 2024–2025. Licence: Official statistics published by a Swedish government agency (facts; free reuse with source attribution). Attribution: Källa: Jordbruksverket, kattregistret. Top names (about 100) among all cats in the national cat register (compulsory since 2023) on 31 December 2024 and 2025. Only the top list is published. Population is the sum of cats per municipality in the same year.
Sweden Sweden · dogs
De populäraste hundnamnen (Statistik ur hundregistret), Jordbruksverket (Swedish Board of Agriculture)
263,302 dogs, 2018–2025. Licence: Official statistics published by a Swedish government agency (facts; free reuse with source attribution). Attribution: Källa: Jordbruksverket, hundregistret. Top 100 names (call names) among all dogs in the compulsory national dog register on 31 December of each year, 2018-2025. Only the top 100 are published. The register was migrated to a new system in 2025, so 2025 counts are not fully comparable with earlier years. Population is the sum of dogs per municipality in the same year.
Basel Switzerland · dogs
Hundenamen im Kanton Basel-Stadt seit 2008, Statistisches Amt des Kantons Basel-Stadt
6,339 dogs, 2003–2026. Licence: CC BY 4.0. Attribution: Statistisches Amt des Kantons Basel-Stadt. Frequency of registered dog names in the canton of Basel-Stadt (Basel, Riehen, Bettingen) per year, about 5,000-6,300 dogs per year from 2003. Each year is a separate snapshot of the register, so a dog appears once per year; the latest year may be incomplete. No sex or breed.
Switzerland Switzerland · cats
Katzen - häufigste Namen (männlich / weiblich), Identitas AG, Tierstatistik
90,005 cats, 2026. Licence: Identitas Tierstatistik terms of use (free use with attribution); listed on opendata.swiss as "Open use. Must provide the source.". Attribution: Identitas AG, Tierstatistik. National register of living cats in Switzerland (ANIS/AMICUS, voluntary for cats, so coverage is partial). Only the top ~20 names per sex are published, with national totals as of the snapshot date; all other names are missing, so absence does not mean rare.
Switzerland Switzerland · dogs
Hunde - Namen der Rüden / Namen der Hündinnen, Identitas AG, Tierstatistik
55,992 dogs, 2026. Licence: Identitas Tierstatistik terms of use (free use with attribution); listed on opendata.swiss as "Open use. Must provide the source.". Attribution: Identitas AG, Tierstatistik. National register of living dogs in Switzerland (AMICUS, compulsory for dogs). Only the top ~20 names per sex are published, with national totals as of the snapshot date; all other names are missing, so absence does not mean rare.
Zurich Switzerland · dogs
Hundenamen aus dem Hundebeständen der Stadt Zürich, seit 2014, Stadtpolizei Zürich / Stadt Zürich Open Data
10,038 dogs, 2014–2025. Licence: CC0 1.0. Names of all dogs registered in the city of Zurich on 31 December of each year since 2014 (about 7,000-10,000 dogs per year). Each year is a separate snapshot, so a dog appears once per year it was registered. No breed information in this file.
Allegheny County United States · dogs
Allegheny County Dog Licenses, Allegheny County Treasurer, via the Western Pennsylvania Regional Data Center (WPRDC)
409,544 dogs, 2003–2026. Licence: CC0 1.0. Dog licences sold by the Allegheny County Treasurer 2007 onwards (excludes the City of Pittsburgh). Annual licences are renewed yearly, so each dog (same name, breed, colour, owner zip and sex) is counted once, under the first licence year it appears in; lifetime licences are counted under their issue year. Records start in 2007, so 2007 includes every dog already licensed then.
Burlington United States · dogs
Dog Licenses, City of Burlington, Vermont
891 dogs, 2022. Licence: No licence stated (published as open data by the City of Burlington). Attribution: City of Burlington, Vermont. All dogs licensed in Burlington, Vermont in the 2022 registration year (the dataset has not been updated since), one row per dog.
Cambridge United States · dogs
Dogs of Cambridge, City of Cambridge Animal Commission
12,717 dogs, 2017–2026. Licence: ODC Public Domain Dedication and License (PDDL). Attribution: City of Cambridge Animal Commission. Dog licences issued by the Cambridge Animal Commission, licence years 2019 onwards (licences expiring 1 January 2020 to 2027). Each dog (same name, breed, birth year, sex and masked location) is counted once, under the first licence year it appears in.
Framingham United States · dogs
Licensed Dogs, City of Framingham, City Clerk's office
4,373 dogs, 2020. Licence: No licence stated (published as open data by the City of Framingham). Attribution: City of Framingham. Dogs licensed by the Framingham City Clerk's office as of 1 January 2020, one row per dog. One-off snapshot, not updated since.
New York City United States · dogs
NYC Dog Licensing Dataset, NYC Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
333,137 dogs, 2014–2025. Licence: NYC Open Data Terms of Use (public data, no restrictions). Active dog licences issued by the NYC Department of Health. Each dog is counted once (same name, sex, birth year, breed and zip code), under the year of its first licence in the data.
Richmond United States · cats
Pet Licenses, City of Richmond, Department of Animal Care & Control
1,163 cats, 2018. Licence: No licence stated (public record under Virginia Code 3.2-6527, published as open data by the City of Richmond). Attribution: City of Richmond Department of Animal Care & Control. Pet licences on record in Richmond, Virginia, in a single load of June 2018 (cats, including those listed as kittens). Names only: no breed or sex is published.
Richmond United States · dogs
Pet Licenses, City of Richmond, Department of Animal Care & Control
4,231 dogs, 2018. Licence: No licence stated (public record under Virginia Code 3.2-6527, published as open data by the City of Richmond). Attribution: City of Richmond Department of Animal Care & Control. Pet licences on record in Richmond, Virginia, in a single load of June 2018 (dogs, including those listed as puppys). Names only: no breed or sex is published.
Seattle United States · cats
Seattle Pet Licenses, City of Seattle, Seattle Animal Shelter
12,762 cats, 2026. Licence: Public domain. Attribution: City of Seattle. All currently active Seattle pet licences (cats only) as published in 2026; each row is one licensed animal. No sex or age is published.
Seattle United States · dogs
Seattle Pet Licenses, City of Seattle, Seattle Animal Shelter
25,597 dogs, 2026. Licence: Public domain. Attribution: City of Seattle. All currently active Seattle pet licences (dogs only) as published in 2026; each row is one licensed animal. No sex or age is published.
Tacoma United States · cats
Current Pet License City of Tacoma/Fircrest, City of Tacoma
1,987 cats, 2021. Licence: No licence stated (published as open data by the City of Tacoma). Attribution: City of Tacoma. Pet licences current in Tacoma and Fircrest, Washington, when the dataset was moved from the city's Socrata portal in December 2021 (cats only). Breeds are abbreviated as in the licensing system.
Tacoma United States · dogs
Current Pet License City of Tacoma/Fircrest, City of Tacoma
3,618 dogs, 2021. Licence: No licence stated (published as open data by the City of Tacoma). Attribution: City of Tacoma. Pet licences current in Tacoma and Fircrest, Washington, when the dataset was moved from the city's Socrata portal in December 2021 (dogs only). Breeds are abbreviated as in the licensing system.
Worcester United States · dogs
Dog Licenses - 1998 to Present, Office of the City Clerk, City of Worcester
7,339 dogs, 1998–2026. Licence: Free distribution, attribution required (City of Worcester open data terms). Attribution: City of Worcester, MA. Every dog licence issued by the Worcester City Clerk, licence years 1998 to present. Licences are annual, so each year is the full set of dogs licensed that year and a dog licensed for ten years is counted in ten years; do not sum years.

Other data

Famous real and fictional animals: Wikidata, CC0.
Baby name ranks: US Social Security Administration (2025) and national statistics offices, via MixedName.